Sometimes you need to share your sensitive information like photos, videos, or wifi passwords with someone on social media especially on messaging app, you had to risk that your information would be permanently passed on to that person. The information about the business or private matters that we want the recipient to see only once. Whatsapp has taken a good step in this regard. Recently, Whatsapp has introduced a new feature called View Once.
The View once feature has been launched on August 4. The view once is a feature that allows you to send disappearing photos and videos. Sent data will be automatically deleted after opening by the recipient, whether it’s photos, video, or text. You just press “1” at the left of the send button to enable View once.
Whatsapp will not allow users to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received after enabling view once. The media will not be saved to the receiver’s Gallery. Senders can only see if a receiver has opened a View Once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
Although the view once features is good, but if the recipient is sharp-minded, so he can take a screenshot before it disappears. For video, the recipient can use a screen recorder while watching the view once video. Whatsapp said ” You won’t be notified if someone takes a screenshot or use screen recording. So you can say there is a hack to break the view once feature.
Whatsapp also stated in a blog that ” if the photo or video sent by the View once feature and it’s not opened within 14 days of it being sent, so after 14 days the media will expire from the chat. You can restore view once expired data from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If you have already opened or read view once data, so it will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.